It’s fall veggie time!

Gone are the days of countless fresh tomatoes, peppers, tomatillos, squash, eggplant, cucumber and more.  If you’re like me, maybe you have a couple producers still left in the garden that you just couldn’t bare to rip out, but most of my summer veggies are gone now.  So what’s next?  Back to cool season veggies!

What’s the difference between cool season veggies and summer veggies?  One main difference is that most summer veggies are actually fruits and cool season veggies are true veggies.  Cool season veggies are grown for their leaves (like lettuce, collards, etc), roots (like beets, radishes, etc), flower heads (like broccoli, cauliflower, etc), and bulbs (like onions, leeks, etc).  Summer veggies are mostly grown for their fruits like the ones listed previously.  Here in the Mid-Atlantic region we have two cool growing seasons – spring and fall.

In one of my earlier posts you saw my summer veggie garden in my front yard…since my back yard is mostly shade it’s difficult to grow many edibles there, so I have to get creative.  Now I want to show you my front yard cool season garden.  Since a neighborhood bunny visited my house recently and snacked on my new veggie starts (which was on today’s to do list to get in the ground), I’ll have to share my photos from this past spring.  But don’t worry, I’ll be growing the same veggies this season as you see in the photos in a similar configuration.  Also please take note that I don’t have a HUGE area that I grow in, so don’t think you have to have a large piece of land to grow your own veggies.

And don’t forget herbs too!  Many are perennial and now is still a great time to plant those too.

This is what I started with:


Then I added these guys:


The final product:

Growing up and getting bigger:





A few close-ups:






And now we get to eat!

4 thoughts on “It’s fall veggie time!

  1. Steph, you’ll have to share your (hopeful) success keeping that bunny outa’ your fall veggies. Your spring veggies were tidy and really pretty, showing us all that an attractive front yard need not be purely ornamental.

    • Absolutely! There is something great about mixing edibles with ornamentals! And about that bunny…I haven’t had problems before so we’ll see what happens. I’ll keep you posted! Thanks for reading:-)

  2. It’s so pretty! Now I’m hungry for dinner….. I use cayenne pepper to keep squirrels out of my tulips in the spring but I haven’t tried it on bunnies. I have a ton of them but for some reason they don’t eat out of my annual pots, maybe because there’s mustard greens in there? All my other veg are fenced in.

    • Thanks so much! And yes, I haven’t used the peppers but I’ve heard that works well. By the way, it was a groundhog that was helping himself to my veggie buffet! We caught him and relocated him…hope he doesn’t have a buddy still lurking around! Hope your garden is growing in well:-)

Leave a Reply

