Come and take a sneak peek

I realize it’s been a little while since my last post, but I recently got back from Columbus, Ohio for the largest horticulture trade show in North America!  My colleagues and I had a great time listening to knowledgeable speakers, networking with many of our growers, as well as others in the industry, and learning about new plants that will be available next spring.  We were even able to show some of our growers a few of our favorites while we were there so they can get a head start on growing for the spring!  You’re going to love the new varieties of annuals and perennials coming out for next spring.  Here is a sneak peek of just some of my favorites I saw at the show:

Gerbera Daisy Volcanoes – I’m not usually a HUGE fan of Gerber Daisies but I fell in love with this one as soon as I saw it.  The large (over 4″ diameter!), bright yellow/orange flower head looks just like a ball of fire…so I guess it was appropriately named!  It’ll knock your socks off!  Height: 18″  Spread: 12″  Care: Full sun to part shade, well drained soil – let dry out between watering

Digiplexis Illumination ‘Flame’ – This plant seemed to be the talk of the town, and rightfully so in my opinion.  It’s a Digitalis hybrid with brilliant flower color – pink/purple edges fading into a yellow/orange center.  Digitalis are typically perennial in the mid Atlantic region, however, this variety seems to be a little more tender, but blooms spring through fall.  Height: 2-3′  Spread: 1-2′  Care: Full sun to light shade

Salvia Amistad – This new variety of salvia looks similar to the black and blue (one of my all time favorites) but instead of a blue flower, it’s purple.  Let’s see if it attracts as many hummingbirds as the B&B.  Guess we’ll find out!  Height: 3-4′  Spread: 3′  Care: Full sun to part shade, drought tolerant, attracts birds and butterflies

Gomphrena Pink Zazzle – Dazzle your containers with the new Pink Zazzle!  We could not get enough of this funky, pink, ping pong ball sized flower.  Height: 2′ Spread: 1′  Care: Full sun to part shade, well drained soil

Petunia Glamouflage Grape – Because I know we need ANOTHER variety of petunia in the world, but this one is SUPER cool.  What’s unique about this Petunia is its VARIEGATED LEAF, bright purple flower and naturally compact growth habit.  Height: 6-8″  Spread: 10-16″  Care: Full sun to part shade, keep evenly moist

So, try something new next spring and sprinkle some of these cool new varieties throughout your landscape or in your container gardens.  I’m already looking forward to giving these guys, and others, a whirl!

8 thoughts on “Come and take a sneak peek

  1. Love the names! Glamouflage Grape…. a jazzee work play and a flashy petunia with variegation! On my radar for next spring. I hope many growers are planning for it now. Thanks for hunting down the winners for us. Glad you had a good time as well.

    • Hi Sharon, thanks for reading! I’m definitely ready to try these new varieties, along with others, next spring. A couple of our growers have already informed me they will be growing at least a couple of these already:-)

    • Hi Karen, glad you enjoyed the post! I’m really excited about that one as well. I feel that gomphrena is a really under used annual and it’s such a performer. Can’t wait to try this one!

Leave a Reply

