Who cares about annuals anyway?

The question I hear most at the garden center is “Are annuals the ones that come back every year or do I have to plant them every year?”.  In my immediate defensive answer I explain to them yes, you plant them every year, BUT they provide beautiful summer color all season long!  Although perennials will come back year after year, many will only produce color for 4-6 weeks.  I mean who doesn’t want showy, bright colorful flowers in their gardens and containers ALL SUMMER LONG?!?!  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a hater.  I love perennials too (especially ones that have interesting foliage or other fun attributes).  And a great mix of annuals and perennials can’t be beat.  But for me, annuals are where it’s at.  So check out these pics of some fun annuals and see why you should care about annuals anyway!

9 thoughts on “Who cares about annuals anyway?

  1. Awesome! I always forget which come back each year. I also didn’t realize perrenials only have Color for such a short time. Thanks for the info!

  2. Speaking about annuals- I’ve had a few annuals come back and pose as a perennial (not self seeded). Begonias can show up next year. Verbena has done this too. I thought the Verbena would last 2 years until the mites set up house in them. I pulled Lantana out of the compost pile. I pruned the gnarly thing and stuck it back in a pot. That plant went bonkers with blooms. I love your combinations of annuals in containers. I tried to repeat the arrangement you made last year for one of our customers. It was good but not the level of excitement that you made. You have a special eye!

    • Thanks Sharon! You’re so sweet! Creating custom container gardens for people is one of my favorite things to do. I’m so glad you liked my design.

      And yes, I’ve had annuals come back for me on the occasion as well. Sometimes if they’re in a happy and protected place they can make it through the winter…especially if it’s mild like the last two we’ve had here in Northern VA.

  3. Hi Sharon! Thanks so much for the link! Deer can be such pesky little guys for many of us. I haven’t tried this product but sounds like maybe I should give it a whirl. I’m always looking for other safe (and non-stinky!) alternatives for repelling deer.

    I’ve had good luck with a product called Sweeney’s Deer Repellent, which is what I’ve also been recommending to my customers. Have you tried that one before? Thanks again for the info!

Leave a Reply

